Connecticut DUI Attorney
If you’ve been arrested for a DUI in Connecticut, it is important that you contact an experienced Connecticut DUI Lawyer right away. DUI laws in Connecticut are very strict and can greatly impact your life if you are convicted, even as a first time offender. Attorney Dorman understands the significant consequences a DUI conviction can have and will work tirelessly to get the charges dropped or reduced.
First Time DUI Offender in Connecticut
Sometimes mistakes happen, but in Connecticut the repercussions of driving with an elevated blood alcohol level can be significant. First time DUI offenders in Connecticut can face fines of $500-$1000 along with a mandatory 45 day license suspension. You could also end up with a jail sentence of up to 6 months. Once you are able to drive again, the law requires your car be fitted with an ignition interlock system, which doesn’t allow you to drive until you breathe into a device that tests your alcohol levels. You will need to pay to install this system and will need it for an entire year following the end of your license suspension.
2nd Time DUI Offender in Connecticut (age 21+)
If this is your 2nd DUI conviction, the stakes are really high and the repercussions will effect your life for years to come. Not only do you face a mandatory minimum of 120 days in prison that can be extended up to 2 years, but you also will have to drive your vehicle with an ignition interlock system for 3 years. You also will only be permitted to drive to work, school, an alcohol treatment program or an ignition interlock device service center. The fine also can be anywhere from $1000-$4000.
3rd and Subsequent DUI Offender in Connecticut
If you are on your third DUI conviction, you are facing extreme life changing consequences. Prison time is a minimum of 1 year with up to 3 years behind bars. Fines can be anywhere from $2000 to $8000 and license suspension can be permanent.
How Can The Dorman Law Firm, LLC Help?
The Dorman Law Firm, LLC will investigate your case and look for any opportunities to have your charges dropped, dismissed or reduced. If you are facing a 2nd or 3rd DUI conviction, some penalties and charges can be appealed through a special hearing. There are also other options to dismiss certain charges including participating in the Supervised Diversionary Program, The Alcohol Education for DUI and The Drugs and Accelerated Rehabilitation (AR) program, among others. With such high stakes, it is important that you immediately secure aggressive DUI defense services from a Connecticut DUI Attorney. We will do everything we can to fight for you, so you can avoid the harshest jail time, fines and avoid losing your driving privileges.